Red Curry with Shrimp {and a little love from the Cajun Queen}

Red Curry with Shrimp {and a little love from the Cajun Queen}

IMG_0940

So, I have wanted to share my recipe for curry with all of you for about 1 week now. I wanted to share how I came to love this amazing dish from Thailand with a great friend whom I ate with on a weekly basis. This friend of mine is a new mom and I am so happy for her, so this recipe development was extra special to me, as I thought of her the whole time. However, the recent events in our country have left me dumbfounded and speechless, and I sat down at my computer and couldn’t think of anything appropriate to write. That’s a first.

First of all, I am just so sad. I’m sad that a mad man went into a place of love and fun and killed 49 innocent people. I’m sad that 50 plus more people were injured. I’m sad for the LGBT community. I’m sad that our country is so divided by politics that it seems like we will never be able to solve this horrendous problem of mass shootings, terrorism and hate crimes. I’m sad because I feel helpless as I watch it all unfold before me.

I’m not getting political. I’m not going on some rant with no end. I’m just really disappointed in the bad news that seems to flood our media outlets. I’m a very sensitive person, and these stories affect me to my core. It seems that one incredibly devastating news story isn’t enough. A pregnant woman is found murdered near my hometown. A mother and father watched their little boy die after being attacked by an alligator at the “Happiest Place on Earth”. I’ve decided lately to try to unplug from the media. Wednesday after work I skipped the gym and decided to take my daughter to Barnes and Noble, to watch her eyes grow in fascination at all the books. I’ve decided to spend time in the kitchen, creating new and exciting dishes for my husband. I’ve decided to spend time in prayer. I’ve decided that enjoying the little things is my way of reacting to all the tragedy.

So, with that being said. Here is my recipe for curry. I love curry. Curry makes me happy. I hope it makes you happy, too.

Here we go!

Music: Classic country (I played music that was nostalgic and brought back memories of simpler days. Play whatever that is for you)

Wine: Rombauer Chardonnay (treat yo self)

Ingredients:

1 lb shrimp- marinate in JJ dressing

½ red bell pepper

½ yellow bell pepper

½ orange bell pepper

1 onion

4 cloves of garlic

1 can coconut milk

Fresh basil leaves- about 4

Chopped cilantro (as much as you want. I like a lot)

Curry paste (I found Roland Curry at Rouses and love it!)

Frozen Asian veggies (I love the steamfresh bag with baby corn, carrots, broccoli, etc. but there are lots to choose from in the frozen section!)

1 small can water chesnuts

1 small can bamboo shoots

Jasmine Rice

Ginger (either fresh or ground. I used ground because I had some. But fresh ginger is fragrant and delicious!)

Instructions:

Let bag of frozen Asian veggies defrost

Marinate shrimp in Johnny Jambalaya’s Herb Dressing and Marinade

Cook shrimp until pink and no longer translucent. Set aside in bowl.

Slice onion and bell peppers into half inch slices. Season with salt, pepper and ginger.

Cook over medium high heat until soft. Add garlic and sauté until fragrant.

Add curry paste to pot. Stir to combine. Enjoy the fragrant beauty of curry!

Add frozen veggies. Stir to combine.

Add can of coconut milk. Stir to combine. Bring to a simmer over medium heat, about 8 minutes.

Add fresh basil and cilantro.

Serve with jasmine rice and enjoy. The fresh basil leaves add a certain something special to this dish. It really is a delicious treat that I’ve loved for years and I could not believe how easy it was to make at home once I tried! We’ve been pretty hooked on this recipe lately and it’s so fun and easy to make.

I hope you enjoy it. Please join me in cooking and living with happiness and purpose. We all have so much to be thankful for.

Side note: It’s Fathers Day weekend! I miss my dad so much and would do anything to spend that day with him. In fact, I see lots of pictures on my Facebook feed of girls with their dad on their wedding day. I lost my dad 1 month before my wedding, so we won’t ever have that picture. Reach out to family. Let go of grudges. Call someone you haven’t talked to in awhile to let them know you love them. You never know when you might lose that chance.

Xoxo- Cajun Queen

 

Leave a Reply

