Crawfish Pie {and Corn Maque Choux}

Crawfish Pie {and Corn Maque Choux}

IMG_0527It’s that time of year….crawfish season!!

Like I’ve said before, I love seafood. And crawfish has a special place in my heart. I love that crawfish is seasonal, because when it comes back around, it makes it that much more special. We love eating crawfish any way possible. Boiled crawfish is such a treat. Gathering friends and family, playing music, drinking a few cold beers, and boiling some spicy mudbugs are what we live for in South Louisiana!

In addition to boiling crawfish, we Louisiana folk love to cook with crawfish. My dad made a killer crawfish etoufee that he served over a heaping serving of jambalaya, all aside some fried shrimp. He called this the Cajun two-step. You can still order this dish at Flanagan’s in Thibodaux, where he worked to put it on the menu! I order the Cajun two-step when I go there. It always reminds me of him.

My mom also cooks with crawfish, and she makes my favorite crawfish delicacy: crawfish pie. My mom always made this for me. When I was in college at Nicholls, I’d go home to Plaquemine for the weekends and she’d send me home with a crawfish pie. Well, when I moved away to Lafayette, and was living on my own, I had no choice but to make it myself, only to find that it is super easy to make! In fact, when Terrent and I first started dating, he’d come to my little apartment and I’d cook, we’d drink wine, and watch TV. One of the first things I cooked for him was crawfish pie. I’ll never forget the look on his face when he asked me “You really made this?”. I was loving the fact that I impressed him so much with such a simple recipe. He said from that point on, he was hooked on both me and my cooking. He jokes because I didn’t cook crawfish pie again for years, and he said “You reeled me in with your crawfish pie, and you never made it again”. When I decided to make it this week for the blog, he was like a little boy on Christmas morning.

Tips: make sure you buy fresh, Louisiana crawfish. Not frozen. And not from China.

I don’t make pie crust. I just don’t. So, my mom always told me to buy the Pillsbury pie crust from the grocery store. This one is near the biscuits. It comes in a long, skinny box, that looks like a spaghetti box, and has 2 round pie crusts that you roll out into your pie dish. I use a 9″ glass pie dish. This crawfish pie has 2 lbs of crawfish in it so it makes a lot of filling, requiring a nice sized pie dish and crust.

Crawfish pie is so delicious, I like to accompany it with a side dish, just to make sure I don’t eat the whole pie. A good side dish for crawfish pie is corn maque choux. My corn maque choux is quick, easy, and flavorful.

Are y’all ready to celebrate crawfish season with me?

Here we go!

Wine pairing: whatever dry white wine you choose to use in this recipe. I used my go-to Kendall Jackson Chardonnay

Beer pairing: Abita Strawberry

Music Pairing: your favorite oldies. Embarrassingly, my oldies are on a Pandora station called 2000’s pop.

Ingredients:

Crust:

Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie shell- place in pie pan- deep dish

Filling:

1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter

1/4 cup flour

1 onion, chopped

1/3 cup green bell pepper, chopped

2 tablespoons chopped celery

(For the last 3 ingredients, I used Guidry’s seasoning I had in my fridge)

2 tablespoons minced garlic

3 tablespoons finely minced fresh parsley

1/2 cup green onion, sliced

Tony Chachere’s seasoning, or your favorite Cajun seasoning

1/4 cup heavy cream

1/4 cup dry white wine

2 lbs. fresh Louisiana crawfish tails

Instructions:

  1. Melt butter over low heat in a large skillet. Gradually add flour and cook slowly, stirring constantly until a very light roux forms. Add onion, green pepper, celery, garlic, parsley, and green onion. Continue cooking and stirring until vegetables are very soft. Add Tony’s, wine, and heavy cream. Mix gently but thoroughly and cook for 3 minutes over low heat. Add crawfish tails and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally and gently.
  2. Spread cooled filling into unbaked pastry shell. Gently place top crust over filled pie. Moisten and seal edges (I moistened with egg wash). Cut 6 slits in the top crust, then bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes. Cool 10 minutes and serve.

Tip: if you let the whole pie cool first, you will get more perfect looking slices. If you can’t wait for it to cool, it will ooze out more. It’s delicious either way, but prettier if you let it cool first.

Now for the lagniappe recipe:

Corn Maque Choux 

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil

Corn (I had 2 small cans of mexicorn at home, and used that. Frozen corn could also work if you defrost first)

1 can of rotel

Guidry’s seasoning (Or onion, bell pepper, celery)

3 cloves of garlic

Cajun Seasoning (We use Tony’s)

Instructions:

Heat oil in pan. Add produce, cook until soft and translucent. Add garlic, stir to combine. Cook garlic until fragrant. Add corn and rotel to the pan. Season as you like it. We use a lot of cayenne pepper in this one. Once heated through and combined, simmer on low heat and serve.

I hope everyone enjoys this family favorite!!

xoxo- Cajun Queen

Leave a Reply

