GUMBO

GUMBO

 

Hi guys! I hope everyone had a great Christmas. My Christmas was filled with beautiful memories with family. It was also my baby, Shelby’s first Christmas AND her first birthday on 12/26! It’s been a hectic, but fun weekend and I am looking forward to a great New Years!

It is a tradition of mine to make a New Years Eve gumbo. I absolutely love making gumbo. Once upon a time, many years ago, I was completely intimidated at the thought of making a gumbo. The only people I knew who cooked gumbo were very seasoned chefs who had been cooking for a long time. Well, about 7 years ago, I decided to try to learn. Ever since that day, I have continued to practice making gumbo and I believe that now, it truly something that will never be “perfected”. Every time I make gumbo, it turns out a little different. I believe the kind of music I’m playing, the kind of mood I’m in, and the kind of wine I’m drinking (hehe) are all factors of how my gumbo comes out. If you put your heart and soul into the gumbo, you can’t go wrong. I learn something new every time I make it, but one thing remains the same: it’s therapeutic and good for my Cajun soul.

Lots of people have asked how I make my gumbo. Well, with some help from both my mom and dad, I have worked the last 7 years to make my own gumbo. I make gumbo in a 3 day process. Day 1 involves making the homemade chicken stock, or as my dad called it “liquid gold”. Making chicken stock is not complicated, but it does need to simmer for hours. I use rotisserie chicken for my stock. It’s easy, and gives you delicious, tender chicken for your gumbo.

After the chicken stock is done, I make my roux. I absolutely love to make a roux! I believe this is something we, as Cajuns MUST know how to do! There is something magical about a roux and the way it becomes so fragrant and has such a distinct smell, and it only has 2 ingredients! I add produce to my roux, and I think it’s what dreams are made of.

On the last day, I mix my roux with my stock. This part is really something that everyone does differently depending on how thick/thin you like your gumbo. I like mine somewhere in between. You also mix the sausage in with the gumbo, skimming the fat off the top of the pot. Lastly, you add your chicken and some green onion, if you wish.

Lagniappe: many people need potato salad with gumbo! My dad taught me to mix potato salad in with my gumbo. I usually make this on the last day.

So, the next 3 days I will be posting, in detail, the 3 different steps of making a gumbo, my way! Please join me. Invite some friends over, open some champagne, and ring in the new year in the best way: with a beautiful pot of homemade gumbo. I can promise you, you will feel happy, proud, and have a full belly. I can’t think of a better way to spend my New Years Eve!

 Gumbo grocery list:

gumbo groceries

1 rotisserie chicken

1 bunch celery

3 onions

1 lb smoked sausage

2 bell peppers

1 bunch of carrots

Green onion

Flour

Vegetable oil

Black pepper

Red pepper

Salt

Bay leaves

Rotel

Dried parsley flakes

 

Leave a Reply

